Mistakes are a Part of Learning

007It didn’t take me too long to do something dumb.  The mistake occurred while I was working on relubricating the mainspring.  The disassembly went well however I ran into issues when I went to rewind it.  It was late and I was tired and wasn’t paying attention to what I was doing.  That led me to winding the spring backwards which, in turn, led to the mess you see here.  I was able to wind it back correctly however the spring is a bit deformed.  Unfortunately I won’t know what the performance is like until I get the movement assembled.

The other bit of bad news is that I’m having difficulty sourcing a replacement mainspring in case my rebuilt one doesn’t function.  I may end up having to buy another watch just for parts.  The cost isn’t too bad but I hate having to use a working watch just for parts.

Well, at least I learned something.

1 thought on “Mistakes are a Part of Learning

Leave a comment